Utah DUI Under 21
Under Utah's strict Zero Tolerance law, minors under the age of 21 may be arrested for driving under the influence for getting behind the wheel of a vehicle with even a small amount of alcohol in their bloodstream. An Under 21 DUI is not only punishable by serious court-imposed penalties, but a minor convicted of this crime could face repercussions in his or her professional life and education as well.
Under 21 DUI
While the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Utah is typically .08%, minors can be charged with an Under 21 for a BAC of .02% or higher. For some people, all it takes is one drink to be considered over the limit, even if their ability to drive is not impaired. The reason for the low limit is that drinking alcohol is illegal for those under 21; therefore, they should not be drinking and driving.
Penalties for an Under 21 DUI Offense
For a first Under 21 offense, you could be sentenced to 120 days of suspension or suspension until you turn 21 (whichever period is longer) and will be required to mount an installation ignition device in your vehicle for 18 months after your driving privileges are restored. In addition, you could be restricted from consuming alcohol for a period of two years.
With a second Under 21 conviction, your license can be suspended for two years or until you turn 21 (again, which ever period is longer) and must have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for three years once you get your license back. The alcohol restriction period for a second offense is increased to ten years.
If you refused to take a breathalyzer or blood test, your license can be suspended for 18 months or until you turn 21. The alcohol restriction for a refusal is five years. For a second refusal, the suspension is increased to three years or until you turn 21 and the alcohol restriction period is increased to ten years.
Fight Your DUI-Related Offense with a Qualified Defense Attorney
Because drunk-driving cases typically involve scientifically-complex evidence, such as the field sobriety, blood, and breathalyzer tests, you need an attorney on your side who has received the appropriate training. We have helped a number of young drivers avoid the stigma associated with an Under 21 DUI.