Utah DUI Third Offense
Have you recently been arrested for a third driving under the influence (DUI) within 10 years in Utah? If so, you probably already know that for each subsequent drunk-driving conviction you receive, the sentence will be increased. This means more jail time, higher fines, and a longer license suspension. Fortunately, with the right DUI law firm on your side, you have just as much of a chance of beating your third drunk-driving charge as someone who is facing a first offense.
Penalties for a Third DUI Offense
If you are convicted of a third DUI within 10 years, you won't have the option of participating in a work service program or home confinement in lieu of jail time--you will have to serve time behind bars. The mandatory minimum penalty for a third offense is 1,500 hours in jail, though the judge could decide to sentence you to more time depending on the circumstances of your case. The judge can also order you to pay at least $1,500 in fines and suspend your license for two years.
Unlike a first or second offense, one of the penalties for a third DUI is the installation of an ignition interlock system in your vehicle for three years. An ignition interlock is a relatively small device--similar to a breathalyzer--that can be mounted on your dashboard. Before the vehicle ignition will start, you must blow into the device so it can test your blood alcohol content (BAC). If your BAC is above a pre-set limit (typically .02%), you cannot drive and the offense will be recorded on an electronic log. You will also be responsible for all of the costs associated with the ignition interlock system's installation, maintenance, and monthly rental fees.
You may also be required to serve supervised probation, during which time you must abide by the court's mandated terms and conditions. If the judge believes that you have problem with alcohol and/or drugs, you may be ordered to participate in a drug and alcohol screening, assessment, education, and/or treatment--all at a cost to you.
You Can Fight Your DUI Charge
Don't think for one second that fighting your third DUI offense isn't possible! By working with an experienced attorney, there is a chance you would avoid the excessive penalties associated with a third conviction by challenging any inaccuracies or errors in your case.