Utah DUI Statute 41-6a-503
Utah has passed a number of statutes regarding what constitutes a driving under the influence (DUI) offense as well as the sentence an offender may receive if convicted of this crime. Due to the risks associated with impaired driving, Utah lawmakers and police departments take DUI seriously, so working with a qualified defense attorney is in your best interest when faced with a drunk-driving charge.
Utah State Code 41-6a-503 lays out the type of charge you could face if arrested for DUI. Each charge will result in a different sentence, so it is important to understand what you are up against if you are currently facing a drunk-driving offense.
For a first and second DUI, you may be charged with a class B misdemeanor if there are no extenuating circumstances; however, this is increased to a class A misdemeanor offense if you either (a) inflicted bodily harm on another person due to an accident, (b) were transporting a minor under the age of 16, or (c) are over 21 years old and had a passenger under 18 years old in the vehicle during the offense.
A DUI can be increased to a third degree felony if you injured another person due to negligent vehicle operation. In addition, you could face a felony offense if you have two or more prior drunk-driving convictions, felony DUI convictions, or vehicular homicide convictions on your criminal record within the past 10 years.
Utah State Code 41-6a-503 also states that you may be found guilty of a separate offense for each person who sustains bodily injury or death due to an alcohol-related accident. This means that if you hit a vehicle while under the influence and injured the other driver and passenger, you will face two misdemeanor or felony charges, which means double the punishment. Because this could result in hard prison time, you need an attorney on your side to fight these charges.
Speak to a Utah DUI Defense Attorney
Whether you're facing a misdemeanor or a felony DUI offense, you are still looking at some serious penalties. We are committed to helping Utah drivers, like yourself, who are interested in fighting their drunk-driving charges.