Utah Administrative License Suspension
It may seem odd that you can automatically face penalties before being convicted of a crime, but this is exactly what will happen if you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Utah--unless you act quickly. Under the state's DUI statutes, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has the authority to impose an administrative license suspension on individuals who drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit or who refuse to submit to a breathalyzer if suspected of impaired driving. Because you have only 10 days to submit a hearing request to the DMV, it is in your best interest to retain a qualified DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.
Contesting Your Administrative License Suspension
In Utah, you have the opportunity to fight your automatic license suspension by requesting a hearing. A DUI defense attorney who has experience with these DMV-related matters can ensure that your paperwork is properly filled out and gather evidence for your case. The only way to get your suspension overturned is to prove that the police had no probable cause for an arrest, so you need an attorney who will investigate your case to show that the evidence is flawed.
If your hearing request is unsuccessful, you can file an appeal. This can be a rather time-consuming process, so it is better to have someone on your side who knows what he or she is doing rather than handling this important matter on your own.
Driver's License Penalties
The length of your administrative license suspension depends on your criminal history: a first offense will result in a 120-day suspension while the penalty for a second and third offense is a two-year penalty. Please note that work permits are not available, so you won't even be allowed to drive to work or other necessary locations while your driving privileges are suspended.
If you refuse to take a breathalyzer, you will be subject to an increased administrative license suspension in addition to fines. For a first breath test refusal, your license will be suspended for 18 months, and this is increased to three years for a second and third breathalyzer refusal.
Act Now to Save Your License
You have too much to lose by not fighting your license suspension, so it's important that you work with a DUI defense lawyer at this time. Our lawyers have helped a number of clients save their driver's licenses.